Monthly Diary Events this Week Sessions Folk Clubs Festivals
Bands Solo Artists Musicians Wanted Musicians Available Callers
Resources Morris Dance For sale Crabshell Records News
Site map Contact FlaxeyGreen  

March

search tips advanced search

IMPORTANT 
Although every care is taken in the presentation of information contained on this web site FlaxeyGreen
cannot be held accountable for any inaccurate information supplied, or any programme changes made, after the information has been published.
I advise that you contact the organiser of the event prior to travel. FlaxeyGreen can not be held responsible for any expenses or losses incurred. Please inform FlaxeyGreen of any errors found on this site. 
Page last updated on 27-12-2020
For events in other months select month from drop down box
Monday 1 March
 
Tuesday 2 March
 
Regular events 1st Tuesday
SONG - Topsham Folk Song Club Singers Night
DANCE - Fraddon Folk Dance Club (Cornwall)
SONG - Bradninch Folk Club - open night
Wednesday 3 March
 
Regular events 1st Wednesday
DANCE - Halsway Folk Dance Club Bicknoller Village Hall
DANCE - Over Stratton Folk Dance Club (South Somerset)
Thursday 4 March
 
Friday 5 March
 
Saturday 6 March
 
Sunday 7 March
 
Regular events 1st Sunday
SONG - Folk on the Moor
Westward Inn, Lee Mill, Ivybridge PL21 9EE 
7.45pm
To book tickets email
Monday 8 March
 
Tuesday 9 March
 
Wednesday 10 March
 
Thursday 11 March
 
Friday 12 March
 
Saturday 13 March
 
DANCE - D'Accord's French Music and Dance
Regular events 2nd Saturday
Sunday 14 March
 
Regular events 2nd Sunday
SONG - Folk on the Moor Book by email
Monday 15 March
 
Tuesday 16 March
 
Regular events 3rd Tuesday
SONG - Topsham Folk Song Club Singers Night

SONG - Bradninch Folk Club
Bradninch Guildhall, Fore Street, Bradninch. EX5 4NN
Doors 7.45pm Start 8.00pm

Wednesday 17 March
 
Regular events 3rd Wednesday
DANCE - Halsway Folk Dance Club Halsway Manor
DANCE - Over Stratton Folk Dance Club (South Somerset)
MUSIC - Blues night at the Lemon Tree (Open Mic).
Thursday 18 March
 
Regular events 3rd Thursday
DANCE - Tavistock Folk Dance Club - Club callers
DANCE - Crewkerne Folk Dance Club (Somerset)
STORYTELLING- Stone Soup Twisted Tales for Adults
Friday 19 March
 
Regular events 3rd Friday
DANCE - Newton Poppleford American Square Dance Plus level
South West Shape Note - Mulberry House Third Friday SingingCullompton - Sacred Harp Singing
7.30pm for 7.45pm until 10.00pm
House singing from the shape-note tradition, singing from The Sacred Harp book.
Venue details and other information: Steve or Martin telephone 01884 563138 or email

Shape Note South West website

Saturday 20 March

Sunday 21 March

The Phil Beer Band
Pavilions Teignmouth The Den Crescent, Teignmouth, TQ14 8BG
7.30pm
Tickets - For tickets and more information go to website Box office email or telephone 01626 249049. Please note: Booking Fees per transaction £1.00 Over the phone and online. 50p In person at the Box Office.

The Phil Beer Band performs a unique blend of folk and roll trawled from Phil’s treasure trove of traditional tunes and American country rock

The highly popular line up comprises Gareth Turner, Steve Crickett, Emily Slade, Greg McDonald, Olivia Dunn and of course, Phil Beer and promises to deliver a lively cocktail of folk, rock, country and blues.

The Phil Beer Band evolved organically in the early to mid 90s at Maisemore in Gloucesteshire. It was a loose federation consisting of Phil Beer (Show of Hands), Nick Quarmby and Steve Crickett, all of whom lived close to each other, and melodeon player Gareth Turner from Northamptonshire. There was a need in the community for a band to play local events and ceilidhs and, following in the tradition set by the Albion Band (of which both Gareth and Phil were former members) the band always interspersed the dances with the odd song.

Basically, over a long period of time, it has evolved into a ‘Folk n Roll’ band with country rock overtones. It is the vehicle for Phil to return to the electric guitar and to have a good time with his mates. The band has seen many members and many tours but has been fairly inactive in the last five years. That’s about to change!

Regular events 3rd Sunday
SONG -Folk on the Moor
Westward Inn, Lee Mill, Ivybridge PL21 9EE 
7.45pm
To book tickets email
Monday 22 March
 
Tuesday 23 March
 
Wednesday 24 March
 
Thursday 25 March
 
Friday 26 March
 
Saturday 27 March
 
Sunday 28 March
 
Regular events 4th Sunday
SONG -Folk on the Moor Book by email
SONG/STORYTELLING - Tradewinds
Okey Folky - Singers, musicians, poets, step-dancers and audience members all welcome!
Monday 29 March
 
Tuesday 30 March
 
Wednesday 31 March