Montlhy Diary Events this Week Sessions Folk Clubs Festivals
Bands Solo Artists Musicians Wanted Musicians Available Callers
Resources Morris Dance For sale Crabshell Records News
Site map Contact FlaxeyGreen  

July

search tips advanced search

IMPORTANT 
Although every care is taken in the presentation of information contained on this web site FlaxeyGreen
cannot be held accountable for any inaccurate information supplied, or any programme changes made, after the information has been published.
I advise that you contact the organiser of the event prior to travel. FlaxeyGreen can not be held responsible for any expenses or losses incurred. Please inform FlaxeyGreen of any errors found on this site. 
Page last updated on 22-01-2020
For events in other months select month from drop down box
Wednesday 1 July
 
Regular events 1st Wednesday
DANCE - Gittisham Folk Dance Club - The Dancing Keys - Mark Moran
Thursday 2 July
 
Friday 3 July
 
Saturday 4 July
 
Sunday 5 July
 
Regular events 1st Sunday
SONG - Folk on the Moor
Westward Inn, Lee Mill, Ivybridge PL21 9EE
7.45pm
Book by email
Monday 6 July
 
Regular events 1st Monday
Tuesday 7 July
 
Regular events 1st Tuesday
SONG - Topsham Folk Song Club Singers Night
DANCE - Fraddon Folk Dance Club (Cornwall)
Wednesday 8 July
 
Regular events 2nd Wednesday
DANCE - Gittisham Folk Dance Club - Jeroka - Simon Maplesden
Thursday 9 July
 
Friday 10 July
Ivybridge Lions present The Wurzels
Ivybridge Rugby Club, Cross-in-Hand, Filham, Ivybridge PL21 0LR
Gates open at 5.00pm, support acts from 7.00pm (approx) followed by The Wurzels.
Tickets £20.00+ - Box office 01752 892220. For more information go to website

On the evening before The Lion's Fun Day 2020, The Wurzels will be performing at Ivybridge Rugby Club. Tickets include entry to the Lions Fun Day the following day, Saturday 11 July 2020.

Saturday 11 July
 
Regular events 2nd Saturday
Sunday 12 July
 
Regular events 2nd Sunday
Monday 13 July
 
Regular events 2nd Monday
STORYTELLING - South Devon Storytellers
Tuesday 14 July
 
Wednesday 15 July
 
Regular events 3rd Wednesday
DANCE - Gittisham Folk Dance Club - A Tight Squeeze - Aileen Wills
MUSIC - Blues night at the Lemon Tree (Open Mic).
Thursday 16 July
 
Friday 17 July
 
Regular events 3rd Friday
DANCE - Newton Poppleford American Square Dance Plus level
South West Shape Note - Mulberry House Third Friday Singing Cullompton
Saturday 18 July
 
Sunday 19 July
 
Regular events 3rd Sunday
SONG - Folk on the Moor
Westward Inn, Lee Mill, Ivybridge PL21 9EE
7.45pm
Book by email
Monday 20 July
 
Regular events 3rd Monday
Tuesday 21 July
 
Regular events 3rd Tuesday
SONG - Topsham Folk Song Club Singers Night
SONG - Bradninch Folk Club
Bradninch Guildhall, Fore Street, Bradninch. EX5 4NN
Wednesday 22 July
 
Regular events 4th Wednesday
DANCE - Gittisham Folk Dance Club - Jigs for Gigs - Sarah Clough    
SONG - Lympstone Folk, Roots and Acoustic
Thursday 23 July
Flats and Sharps
Otterton Mill, Otterton, nr Budleigh Salterton, Devon, EX9 7HG
Tickets £15.00 (price covers the music only)
Pre-booking required. Food served 6.00pm to 7.30pm, music starts at 8.00pm. To book, telephone 01395 568521 - website 
Friday 24 July

Saturday 25 July
 
Regular events 4th Saturday

SONG - Shammick Acoustic - Geoff Lakeman & Rob Murch
The ‘museum’ at the Pack o’ Cards, High Street, Combe Martin EX34 0JD.

A welcome return to both these fine musicians. Although not seen at Shammick Acoustic together before, Geoff the ‘concertina crooner’ and Rob, the ‘titan of twang’ have recently formed this dynamic new folk/acoustic duo. Anyone in the West Country and way beyond will sit up and take notice at the name of ‘Lakeman’, known for fine music through sons Seth, Sean and Sam, but maybe they wouldn’t lead one to expect the Americana and jazz parts of his repertoire, or his very fine playing of the unusual duet concertina. Rob is revered master of the banjo with a unique punchy finger style, and has played for many years with the renowned Dartmoor Pixie Band, and as a third of Moor Music with Mark Bazeley and Jason Rice. Both men live on Dartmoor, and it was inevitable that they would meet up musically, and due to their somewhat unusual repertoires link up and perform together. So expect original and West Country songs, rattling traditional tunes, and foot-stomping ragtime and cakewalk riffs with a relaxed and yet sparkling stage presence, bubbling with the ‘feel-good’ factor.

Tickets are £9.00 if bought in advance through WeGotTickets or, if you’re in Combe Martin, at The Pack o’ Cards or Pets’ Pantry, both in High Street, or for £10.00 at the door (with a £2.00 discount for members of Shammick Acoustic).  They may also be reserved by ringing Tom & Barbara Brown on 01271 882366.
Sunday 26 July
 
Regular events 4th Sunday
SONG - Folk on the Moor Book by email
Monday 27 July
 
Regular events 4th Monday
Tuesday 28 July
 
Regular events 4th Tuesday
SONG - Topsham Folk Song Club Singers Night
SONG - Shape Note Singing in Ipplepen
Wednesday 29 July
 
Regular events 5th Wednesday
DANCE - Over Stratton Folk Dance Club (South Somerset)

DANCE - Gittisham Folk Dance Club - Chris Toyne - Ray Goodswen

DANCE - Newton Poppleford American Square Dance Basic and Mainstream levels
Thursday 30 July
 
Regular events 5th Thursday
DANCE - Crewkerne Folk Dance Club (Somerset)
Friday 31 July