Monthly Diary Events this Week Sessions Folk Clubs Festivals
Bands Solo Artists Musicians Wanted Musicians Available Callers
Resources Morris Dance For sale Crabshell Records News
Site map Contact FlaxeyGreen  

December

search tips advanced search

IMPORTANT 
Although every care is taken in the presentation of information contained on this web site FlaxeyGreen
cannot be held accountable for any inaccurate information supplied, or any programme changes made, after the information has been published.
I advise that you contact the organiser of the event prior to travel. FlaxeyGreen can not be held responsible for any expenses or losses incurred. Please inform FlaxeyGreen of any errors found on this site. 
Page last updated on 22-01-2020
Tuesday 1 December
 
Regular events 1st Tuesday
DANCE - Fraddon Folk Dance Club (Cornwall)
SONG - Bradninch Folk Club - open night
Wednesday 2 December
 
Regular events 1st Wednesday
DANCE - Gittisham Folk Dance Club The Dancing Keys - Sarah Clough                    
Thursday 3 December
 
Friday 4 December
 
Saturday 5 December
Doug Eunson & Sarah Matthews - Jane Thomas
Bridport Ceilidhs, Church House Hall,  South Street, Bridport DT6 3NW
Start time: 7.30pm - Finish time: 11.00pm
£9.00 in advance, £10.00 on the door, £4.00 for 6-16 yrs. Tickets can be bought at The Bridport Music Centre in South Street or booked by phone/email up to 5.00pm on the day. Contact Monty: telephone 01308 423 442 or email or see website for more information

Come along and enjoy a fun evening of dancing amongst friendly welcoming folk. No partner or experience required, all dances will be talked and walked through and called until you are all experts! Bring & Share supper and you own alcohol - the Woodman Inn is just opposite.

Sunday 6 December
 
Regular events 1st Sunday
SONG - Folk on the Moor
7.45pm
Book by email
Monday 7 December
 
Tuesday 8 December
 
Wednesday 9 December
 
Regular events 2nd Wednesday
DANCE - Gittisham Folk Dance Club Jeroka - Jeremy Child
DANCE - Over Stratton Folk Dance Club (South Somerset)
Thursday 10 December
 
Friday 11 December
 
Saturday 12 December
 
SONG - Shammick Acoustic - John Kirkpatrick - Carolling and Crumpets
7.30pm
  We are lucky to have a really acclaimed show for our Christmas special this year.  For anyone who has the slightest interest in the folk scene, you’ll know that John Kirkpatrick is at the top of the tree when it comes to the very best of performers.  And even if you haven’t, you’ll probably have come across his music in the theatre from The Orchard Theatre Touring Company based here in Devon to the Victoria Theatre in Staffordshire to London’s National Theatre, and in TV series such as The Land Girls and Victorian Farm.  He has been a member of the Albion Country Band, Magic Lantern, The Richard Thompson Band, Steeleye Span and many others over the years, but still enjoys playing in intimate venues such as Shammick Acoustic, which to many who are used to audiences of thousands can be quite intimidating. John is known as the master of squeeze box playing, using melodeon, button accordion and anglo-concertina in a totally distinctive style.  John’s seasonal special includes traditional English songs and plenty of his inimitable original songs, some of which are quaranteed to have you in stitches.  If you want a feel-good start to your Christmas, this is where to find it!
Tickets are £9.00 if bought in advance through WeGotTickets or, if you’re in Combe Martin, at The Pack o’ Cards or Pets’ Pantry, both in High Street, or for £10.00 at the door (with a £2.00 discount for members of Shammick Acoustic).  They may also be reserved by ringing Tom & Barbara Brown on 01271 882366.
Regular events 2nd Saturday
Sunday 13 December
 
Regular events 2nd Sunday
Monday 14 December
 
Regular events 2nd Monday
STORYTELLING - South Devon Storytellers - Pie Street - 26 High Street, Totnes TQ9 5RY - 7.30pm
Tuesday 15 December
 
Regular events 3rd Tuesday
DANCE - Sidford Folk Dance Club

SONG - Bradninch Folk Club
Bradninch Guildhall, Fore Street, Bradninch. EX5 4NN
Doors 7.45pm start 8.00pm

The Bradninch Folk Club in its many guises can be contacted on 01392 881105 or on Facebook.

Wednesday 16 December
 
Regular events 3rd Wednesday
DANCE - Gittisham Folk Dance Club Jigs for Gigs  - Simon Maplesden
DANCE - Halsway Folk Dance Club
MUSIC - Blues night at the Lemon Tree (Open Mic).
Thursday 17 December
 
Friday 18 December
 
Saturday 19 December
 
Sunday 20 December
SONG - Shammick Acoustic Midwinter Carols Night
Castle Inn, High Street, Combe Martin, Ilfracombe EX34 0HS
This is the eighteenth annual Combe Martin Midwinter Carols Night. We have carols (both common and unusual), wassail songs, local midwinter songs. Hand-out books of the songs are provided - with or without music. With punch, sausage rolls and mine pies. Accompanied by a motley miscellany of instrument players (a 15-piece band at the last count!). Just bring your voice (and instrument if you play) for an enjoyable singing evening in the Castle function room - with a bar.
Monday 21 December
 
Tuesday 22 December
 
Wednesday 23 December
 
Thursday 24 December
 
Friday 25 December
 
Saturday 26 December
 
Sunday 27 December
 
Okey Folky - Singers, musicians, poets, step-dancers and audience members all welcome!
Monday 28 December
 
Tuesday 29 December
 

Wednesday 30 December

 
Thursday 31 December