Monthly Diary Events this Week Sessions Folk Clubs Festivals
Bands Solo Artists Musicians Wanted Musicians Available Callers
Resources Morris Dance For sale Crabshell Records News
Site map Contact FlaxeyGreen  

August

search tips advanced search

IMPORTANT 
Although every care is taken in the presentation of information contained on this web site FlaxeyGreen
cannot be held accountable for any inaccurate information supplied, or any programme changes made, after the information has been published.
I advise that you contact the organiser of the event prior to travel. FlaxeyGreen can not be held responsible for any expenses or losses incurred. Please inform FlaxeyGreen of any errors found on this site. 
Page last updated on 11-02-2020
For events in other months select month from drop down box
Saturday 1 August
 
Sunday 2 August
 
Monday 3 August
 
Tuesday 4 August
 
Wednesday 5 August
 
Regular events 1st Wednesday
Thursday 6 August
 
Regular events 1st Thursday
Friday 7 August
 
Saturday 8 August
 
Regular events 2nd Saturday
Sunday 9 August
 
Monday 10 August
 
Tuesday 11 August
 
Wednesday 12 August
The Beehive Acoustic Café
The Beehive Arts Centre, Dowell Street, Honiton, EX14 1LZ
8.00pm
Free entry
A supportive open mic session in the Beehive bar with host and guitarist Terry Stacey. Come along to listen or to play
Regular events 2nd Wednesday
Thursday 13 August
Mark Harrison Band
Otterton Mill, Otterton, nr Budleigh Salterton, Devon, EX9 7HG
Tickets £15.00 (price covers the music only)
Pre-booking required. Food served 6.00pm to 7.30pm, music starts at 8.00pm. To book, telephone 01395 568521 - website 
Regular events 2nd Thursday
DANCE - Crewkerne Folk Dance Club (Somerset)
SONG - Totnes Folk Song Club - singers night
SONG - Wadebridge Folk Club - Closed for summer break
Friday 14 August
 
Regular events 2nd Friday
Saturday 15 August
 
Sunday 16 August
 
Monday 17 August
 
Tuesday 18 August
 
Regular events 3rd Tuesday
SONG - Bradninch Folk Club
Bradninch Guildhall, Fore Street, Bradninch. EX5 4NN
Wednesday 19 August
 
Regular events 3rd Wednesday
MUSIC - Blues night at the Lemon Tree (Open Mic).
Thursday 20 August
 
Regular events 3rd Thursday
DANCE - Crewkerne Folk Dance Club (Somerset)
Friday 21 August
 
Regular events 3rd Friday
Saturday 22 August
 
Regular events 4th Saturday

SONG - Shammick Acoustic - The Dovetail Trio
The ‘museum’ at the Pack o’ Cards, High Street, Combe Martin EX34 0JD.

Performing England’s traditional songs with a new energy, The Dovetail Trio have been exploring folk narratives with musical skill and a passion for their heritage since forming in 2014. With some years of experience behind them, the trio effortlessly combine the distinctive voices and acclaimed instrumental talents of Jamie Roberts, Rosie Hood and Matt Quinn, pointing up the songs with exquisite harmonies and guitar and duet concertina accompaniments. Jamie is a multi-instrumentalist, singer and songwriter who has gained recognition for his innovative and adaptive playing styles through his work with award-winning contemporary folk duo Gilmore & Roberts, traditional English band Kerfuffle, and more recently The Emily Askew Band. BBC Radio 2 Folk Award nominated Rosie is a singer and songwriter from Wiltshire known for her strong, pure voice and captivating performances, who has been immersed in traditional music for most of her life. Matt is a singer and multi-instrumentalist brought up since birth surrounded by English traditional music and song, and has more than ten years’ experience of performing everywhere from small folk clubs to Glastonbury and WOMAD festivals. We can expect ‘richly rounded accented vocals, skin-tight harmonies and sparse yet polished instrumentation. Who can wish for more?

Tickets are £9.00 if bought in advance through WeGotTickets or, if you’re in Combe Martin, at The Pack o’ Cards or Pets’ Pantry, both in High Street, or for £10.00 at the door (with a £2.00 discount for members of Shammick Acoustic).  They may also be reserved by ringing Tom & Barbara Brown on 01271 882366.

Sunday 23 August
 
Okey Folky - Singers, musicians, poets, step-dancers and audience members all welcome!
Monday 24 August
 
Regular events 4th Monday
Tuesday 25 August
 
Wednesday 26 August
 
Regular events 4th Wednesday
SONG - Lympstone Folk, Roots and Acoustic
Thursday 27 August
Jane Taylor Band
Otterton Mill, Otterton, nr Budleigh Salterton, Devon, EX9 7HG
Tickets £15.00 (price covers the music only)
Pre-booking required. Food served 6.00pm to 7.30pm, music starts at 8.00pm. To book, telephone 01395 568521 - website 
Regular 4th Thursday
DANCE - Crewkerne Folk Dance Club (Somerset)
Friday 28 August
The Back Kitchen Boys A Gallery Gig
Plough Arts Centre, Gt. Torrington EX38 8HQ
8.00pm
Tickets £6.50 To reserve tickets telephone the Box Office on 01805 624624. To purchase tickets and more information visit website
Come along and enjoy some good fun music to make you think, laugh, cry, stamp your feet and have a generally fine time with the Back Kitchen Boys (Jerry, John & Andy) as they ponder on the absurdities of the world with their harmonica wailing, guitar picking, bass thumping, banjo strumming acoustic Blues.
Regular events 4th Friday
Saturday 29 August
 
Sunday 30 August
 
Monday 31 August